Chinese new year

Chinese New Year is a big deal in Asian countries. This is my first time celebrating with Ivie in Malaysia. Earnings season at work always kept me in New York from late January to early March, so I couldn’t come to Malaysia, and CNY in New York doesn’t really seem to be the same.

So I am attaching some photos of what I see here.

Mrs. Ng woke up extra early to start the cooking. There’s a big meal made for the ancestors who have passed on. 

image

There’s a roasted chicken and duck, rice, pork in various forms, vegetables, stacks of joss money, wine, cookies, dumplings. It would take a week for me to eat it all.

Then there’s praying. I’m not Buddhist, so I don’t really know the intricacies, so I’ll substitute pictures for the words.

image
A small shrine like this is pretty common in Chinese houses.

image

After some time has passed, the joss money and other special folded paper is brought outside and burned to transmit it to the ancestors for them to use in the next world.

image

image

image

image

So that’s my Chinese New Year’s eve morning so far.

Lunch:
image
image

image
One ginormous incense stick.
3 thoughts on “Chinese new year

Leave a Reply

